Sorry for the delayed post! I had a different word for this week, but couldn’t find what I was looking for to photograph, so I went with a back-up.

This week was a difficult one to decide on just one word – but I eventually decided on kitchen. Boring, possibly, but it fits. This week, I’ve spent a hell of a lot of time in the kitchen, determined to cook. Last Sunday I made bread (awesome), I’ve baked, I’ve made breakfasts for the next week, dinners… all in all, I’m becoming a lot more comfortable in the kitchen. A few years ago, you wouldn’t have been able to get me to spend any time in there voluntarily. Hell, in my old place, I probably ate out more than I cooked in my kitchen (which is just a shame).

All this time in the kitchen has definitely been doing one thing: helping me spend less money, though I tend to go to the grocery store more often than I usually do. (Foursquare has a badge for everything else, they should have one for days in a grocery store. I probably hit one 6 out of the last 7 days – in some cases more than once in a day.) Well, maybe my spending has just evened out, because looking at my bank account yesterday was just a sad thing, but it feels like I’m spending less (at least it does when I’m not spending $24 on backfin crab meat, *sigh*).

So much more happened this week: I got to go to the last Caps home game of the season with one of my besties (courtesy of a very generous friend), I went on a mini-photowalk, took on more things at the shop (I’ll be doing finishing of handknit projects), knitting furiously to meet a deadline for sample knitting, and got to watch a thoroughly satisfying Caps game tonight – our last regulation game of the season. Playoffs start next week… while I’m excited, I’m cautious.

