20120402-000029.jpg

I’m not quite sure when the trend to make things became the “in” thing to do, I mean, I’ve been trying things for years. More often than not, I get bored or impatient quickly and drop whatever it is I’m trying to do. Then there are things like knitting, which started off as away to keep busy and became a huge part of my life.

One area I’ve never been able to master to my satisfaction is the kitchen. As long as a recipe is involved, or I’ve made a dish before, I can cook – and I’m not bad at it. I’ve always baked, and have felt comfortable with that skill, except for two things that eluded me: pie crust and bread. Today, I can cross bread off of the list. I have made bread. Bread that is not only edible, but that tastes just as it should.

It seems so simple to just run to the store and grab a loaf – and don’t get me wrong, it’s not like I’m never going to do that again – but when one of my dearest friends started baking bread, I had to give it another shot. My first time making bread was from a mix and was like a rock, both in feel and taste. This time I decided to jump in with both feet and start from scratch. Everything about this was made by hand, as I don’t have a stand mixer anymore, and I was surprised at how it made me feel: calm, relaxed, resourceful, and powerful. It’s a simple wheat bread: dense, but not heavy. Ideal slathered with butter and eaten warm. I believe I’ll try and toast it and have a BLT.

So today I have made bread. It may not be a big deal to most people, but it is to me.

