Wow, I have neglected this poor blog. One would have thought that with the unemployment and the job searching, I would have lots to blog about. There have been many things going on, but not many that I openly want to discuss yet. (If you follow me on Facebook and/or Twitter – which I assume you do, since I don’t think anyone who doesn’t actually know me reads this – you already know some of it.)

In short, unemployment sucks. Well, it does once you’ve run through the severance, that is. I never thought that I’d still be searching for a job – hell, I am an expert in retail and have almost 20 years experience, with most of those in management… I would have thought that I’d be getting interviews in that field, at least. And I have gotten a couple. For companies that I love. But I haven’t gotten that second call back. And one of those interviews I walked away from (2 hours later), convinced that I had aced the interview. In fact the manager said that he didn’t want to show my resume to the District Manager, but he didn’t have a management position available in his store.  I’ve interviewed well out of my “field”, hoping that my skills in management will translate, but that hasn’t worked too well. A lot of people find it hard to see past all the “retail” on my resume. *sigh* I have an interview tomorrow for a job that I know I can do, and do well. The hiring manager seems to see the experience beyond the retail, so we’ll see. I’m trying to remain hopeful, but it’s really hard when you have a checking account that has a negative balance. (Luckily, the IRS and Virginia have been good to me this year. There will be a little money to live on soon.)

All I know is that when I get a job and get that first paycheck, I am having a beer or ten to celebrate. While being home a lot has been good for me – I’ve gotten tons of reading done and cleared out lots of podcasts – I need to be out and about. I also need my cable and internet back… and the gym. First world problems, I know, but it’s annoying and inconvenient to run to my parents’ place just to use the internet (which I’m doing a lot with the job searching).

Perhaps something will pan out. I hope so. I keep telling myself it will. Soon, it has to happen, right?

