Will someone tell me why, when you want a certain person (or persons) to call or contact you, the wrong ones always do? *sigh* I suppose beggars can’t really be choosers. Right?

So, in the last 36 hours, I’ve had two exes hint about wanting to get back together with me and one cute boy (the Barista – known as BB from here on out) stop by work to talk to me and Lara. Personally, I think he’s more interested in Lara than me, but that’s another story.

Went to lunch and a movie with J yesterday. Had a ton of fun just hanging with him – he’s one of my best friends as well as one of my exes. Discussed another of my exes (and his ex-roommate), D, and his apparent obsession with an imagined rivalry with J. J pointed out that he thought it was b/c of me – that D still thought of me as "the one that got away." Bullshit. (Tonight he called to let me know that I was right in my rivalry theory. Hee. I love being proved right.) After lunch, headed over to the movie theatre to see Jarhead. (I’ll discuss the movie below.) So we had a ton of time to continue talking while waiting for the previews. This time, we talked about his unhappy relationship and my lack of one right now. He mentioned something about how I was special, blah, blah, blah… He knows how I feel about giving him advice on his relationship – v.v. weird – and that while there is always a part of my heart that will love him, that I won’t even entertain the thought of getting back together with him while he’s in a relationship. Unhappy or not. Period.

So then I talk to D last night. He offers to take me to Coldstone for ice cream… who am I to say no? He starts teasing me about using him for ice cream, I tell him that yes, I am. He starts talking about how he’s really changed since we dated (about 7 or 8 years now) and how he thinks he might be ready for a real relationship. I tell him that he’s not. He insists that he’s different and would respect me, blah, blah, blah. I remind him how badly it ended last time and that it won’t happen again for the two of us. I tell him I care about him, but I will never be in love with him. He seemed to take it okay, but I have a feeling he’ll try again. *sigh* I don’t know of any other way to tell him no. The ship has sailed – it’s in Fiji by now, I jumped off within 50 miles of shore and swam back.

So, with all this attention, why the hell can’t the ones I want to talk to contact me? I haven’t talked to M in ages. He and I have a weird relationship where we go for months (occasionally a year or so) without talking and then start talking again. The last time we talked, he said he wanted to see me again, but never said anything definitive. Christ, it’s not like I want a relationship or anything with him! I just want to get laid! (Wait, was that TMI? LOL) Then the guy that I met when I went out to see Rita Rocks – yeah, haven’t heard from him either. Or my friend B who is coming to town from LA. What is up with these men??

So, anyways… Jarhead. Fucking awesome movie! It was v. cool seeing it with J, since he was over there during Desert Storm. Sam Mendes definitely did his homework in researching this movie. To have a Marine lean over and whisper to you "I remember that stuff" was weird and cool at the same time. I don’t usually like movies like this, but this was so well done, so well researched, that I loved it. Yes, there were some extremely disturbing moments… and some really good ones. (Jake Gyllenhaal has one fine ass. He’s all buff, with the Marine haircut… yum! Can I have him under my Christmas tree? Damn, such a nice reminder of why I have the military weakness…) Definitely one that I will see again… quite possibly a few times?

